Skip to main content

About Us

School of Communication IT is the School’s primary provider of information technology services and support. Our mission is to be a partner for the faculty and staff in the School of Communication to enable innovative teaching and research, and finding innovative solutions and applications of technology.

Bulletins and updates about SoC IT operations, services, improvements, and upcoming intiatives can be found at our announcements page.

IT Staff Directory

The best way to get IT services and support is to enter a service request or email soc-it@northwestern.edu. Individual contact information and a description of the areas of expertise are listed below.

General Management

Brandon Grill, Director of Information Technology
Email: bgrill@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1702

Patricial Herman, Financial Assistant
Email: p-oates@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1701

Desktop Services

Responds to faculty and staff service requests; provides end-user desktop, laptop, and tablet support.

Andrew Jelagin, Director for Desktop Services
Email: andy@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-491-5644

Steve Deasy, User Support Specialist
Email: steven.deasy1@northwestern.edu

Marco Rosado, User Support Specialist
Email: marco.rosado@northwestern.edu

Curricular and Academic Technology

Designs and manages distance and blended learning initiatives; provides support for videoconferencing, classroom, and learning management technologies

Bryan Libbin, Director of Curricular and Academic Technology
Email: bryan.libbin@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-4653

Shannon Leftwich, Teaching Technology Specialist
Email: shannonleftwich@northwestern.edu

David Lynch, Digital Media Specialist
Email: david-lynch@northwestern.edu

Julia Pello, Cinematography Specialist
Email: julia.pello@northwestern.edu

Infrastructure and Application Services

Designs and manages servers, storage, security, and network services

John Arends, Manager of Infrastructure and Application Services
Email: jarends@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-491-5789

Zach Maras, System Administrator
Email: zmaras@northwestern.edu

Jose Silva, System Administrator
Email: jsilva@northwestern.edu

Media and Production Services

Designs and maintains video/audio production and post-production facilities; provides custom audio/video solutions for research labs.

Brian Perkinson, Manager of Production Services
Email: b-perkinson@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-467-1710

Gabriel Caskey, A/V Systems Engineer
Email: gabriel@northwestern.edu

Nicholas Hoeppner, A/V Systems Engineer
Email: nhoeppner@northwestern.edu

Rachael Moeller, Production Equipment Specialist
Email: rachael@northwestern.edu

Adam Stein, A/V Systems Engineer
Email: adam@northwestern.edu

Web Services

Designs and manages web sites and applications

Ann Knauth, Manager of Web Services
Email: ann-knauth@northwestern.edu
Phone: 847-491-8901